Currently reading:
Fuse Blows only when steering is full lock

Discuss Fuse Blows only when steering is full lock in the Auto Electrician Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Autonoob

DIY
Reaction score
Hey guys,

I'm 17 and had just bought my first car a 2005 Mitsubishi Triton and noticed whilst driving at night that the 10A fuse for my guage cluster bulbs and parker bulbs had blown. After replacing the fuse, after driving for about 3 mins the fuse blew again. I did some testing and the fuse would never blow when the car sat at idle, or when driving straight with minor turning, the fuse only blew when the steering was full hard lock. I have taken part of the dash and steering column cover off to check for bare / melted wires but nothing stuck out to me. Would appreciate any ideas as to why this would happen and possible solutions, I am by no means an electrical expert but do have basic knowledge and access to a multimeter / soldering iron etc and would love to try and sort this out myself before taking it to an auto electrician, thanks

i would think that something is shorting out when applying full lock.some missing insulation on a cablein close proximity to the metalwork of some part of the steering.

i would think that something is shorting out when applying full lock.some missing insulation on a cablein close proximity to the metalwork of some part of the steering.
I thought this as well, but all the wires near the steering column seem to be fine and fully insulated, I'll give it another look thanks for the reply

Sounds like a pump problem, I suspect the pressure relief valve in the pump isn't working when the steering is on full lock and the pressure that is building up is stalling the pump and blowing the fuse

Sounds like a pump problem, I suspect the pressure relief valve in the pump isn't working when the steering is on full lock and the pressure that is building up is stalling the pump and blowing the fuse
I was thinking the same.